Tuesday, August 30, 2011

More about the pre-historic Jurassic 5

A few additions and corrections to my earlier post about J5 @ the Goodlife café.

Jurassic 5 was formed from two crews coming together: Rebels Of Rhythm (Nu-Mark, Zaakir and Akil) & Unity Committee (Charli 2na, Cut Chemist, Mark 7, Jahli, Kemit, Longevity and Metalogik - the 4 mentioned last are members of the still active crew Darkleaf). They met at the Goodlife cafe where they held talent showcases every Thursday night. Both crews performed there the same night (by coinsidence?), liked eachother's sets and hooked up (reveals an interview on Bombhiphop).
They didn't use the name Jurassic 5 until their first record contract. Their first single "Unified Rebelution" came out in 1994 which was self-released. In '95 it was re-released by Blunt Recordings and that's when the name Jurassic 5 first appeared.

Thanks for my man Iwere for the knowledge. He also corrected me that, to his knowledge, the name Project Blowed wasn't used until they moved from Goodlife café to Kaos Network.

REQUEST: Rebels Of Rhythm "Homeless Superstar" (2001) CD

Here's a few vids / songs of the pre-J5 Unity Committee / Rebels Of Rhythm:

Saturday, August 27, 2011

Curt Sak: Go 4 Broke (2003)

Debut(?) album by Curt Sak (of ScoJourners) from San Francisco. Features Big Shawn, Equipto, Estairy, Mr.J, Skitz, J-Duce, and Mr.Taber. Beats by Big Shawn, Mr.Taber and Skitz.

password: ghettostyles

Friday, August 26, 2011

Jurassic 5: Pre-historik Rarities (2003)

Just as I've been wondering how come there are no old demos and Goodlife Café recordings of Jurassic 5 around (yes, J5 too originates from Project Blowed nights at the Goodlife), I ran into this double-LP.

It includes some of their early recordings and rare collabos. I was especially thrilled about the song "Evolve or Dissolve" that's on Jizzm's Illasophic Vol. 1 cassette which is one of the dopest tapes. It's produced by Slant, and features Jizzm, Slant, J-Smoov, Akil & Chali 2na.

Like I wasn't lucky enough just finding this 2LP, there was a third record inside the sleeve for an unknown reason - the J5 EP. All love for The Funkiest record shop, big up!

1: Unified Rebelution
2: Verbal Gunfight
3: Soul Searching (remix) (feat. Tech N9ne)
4: Evolve or Dissolve (feat. Jizzm, Slant & J Smooth)
5: Vocal Artillary (feat. Ozomatli, Kenetic Source, Dilated Peoples & DJ KidWik)
6: Concentration (feat. Quannum MC's)
7: Join the Dots (feat. Roots Manuva)
8: Life Goes Onn (feat. Long Beach Dub All-Stars, Half Pint & Tippa Irie)
9: Untitled Track Side B (Buck Santa)
10: Ghetto Diplomat
11: Worlds (feat. Texta Tariq & Click Tha Supah Latin)
12: Get Original (feat. Black Eyed Peas)
13: Its All About the Hip Hop (feat. DJ Yutaka)
14: Untitled Track Side C
15: Unibomb (feat. Self Scientific)
16: Hard Times (feat. the Pharcyde)
17: Long Road to Glory
18: The Bread Winner
19: Jaw Jabbin (feat. Click Tha Supah Latin)

Rapidshare 177kb/s (VBR) mp3
(link from Rappmelo.com)

Check this Goodlife recording of Chali 2na from 92-93.
I dig the part where he goes "They call me 2na, as in fish in sea/ self-efficiency/ that's my mission, see/..." which he later used on the song "In The Flesh" on their first EP in '97.

Monday, August 22, 2011

Radio w/ Kali Yuga Pro

This is the show before the previous, sorry for the delay.

The first radio appearance from Ghetto Styles vice president Kali Yuga Pro.

This show is FFFFFAT! Great cross-section of true underground hiphop.
B2B with Iwere.

[About the previous show, we did an Around The World special with Ameeba & Iwere, played hiphop from all over the world, an had the dopest 15-minute freestyle by our homies Kesken & Otto Stadista aka Stonedar. BUT unfortunately that show obviously didn't get recorded. Sorry!)

1. Extra Prolific - First Sermon [Jive]
2. Xtracts Of Slang - How Does It Feel [Freshchest Inc.]
3. Shock G - Your Sun Iz A Pimp [33rd Street]
4. Oddjobs - The Distance Song
5. Union Of Opposites - What's It Worth [Tribal Music]
6. Lazerus Jackson - Time Done [Sunset Leagues]
7. Prophetix - Up On It [S.O.L.A.R. Panel]
8. Semiotics - Todays Song ]Semiotics]
9. Tommy V, EVS, Administer & Maleko - A Peace Of Time [Imprints]
10. Dose One - Vile Glutons
11. Emanon - Rhythm To Life [Asterisk Records]
12. Grouch, Murs, Shingo, Bas-1 - Uncontent [Outhouse]
13. Grouch, PSC, Asop, Arata, Grouch, Eligh & BFAP - Language Song [Legendary ]Music
14. US Pros - LACAUSP
15. Subtitle, LMNO & Otherwize - Away With Words [Marks03]
16. Manik, Psy-Ops - See The Light
17. JRoz - Never Been On An Airplane [Nomadic Sound System]
18. Spex, Brewmasta - Darkest Anger
19. Sundiata & Rabb Chillin - Under The Sun, Under The Son [II Sense]
20. Moving Objects - Symphony Of The Silhouettes [Emmoworks]
21. Anonimous, Fiasco & Tenashus - Do It For The Feeling [Sound Cultivator]
22. Burnt Batch - The High, The Low
23. Bored Stiff - State Of The Art (OG Version) [Hella Records]
24. Saafir - No Return (OG Version) [Hobo Junction]
25. Labtekwon - Eternal Struggle [Ankh Ba Records]
26. Moka Only - Majic
27. Abstract Tribe Unique - Contradictshun [Massmen]
28. Esoin - React To Be [Daysmen Empire]
29. Omid, 2mex, Xololanxinxo, Jizzm & DJ Drez - Atlas
30. The Pharcyde - Passin' Me By (Scott Matelic Remix)
31. Brother Nature - Fresh Squeezed Lemonade

Peace to Enigmatical!

PW: ghettostyles

Thursday, August 18, 2011

A Sound For Sore Ears ('98)

I been pondering who the hell this artist is! There's no name or label on this tape, just the title. Google and Discogs don't help neither.

[Edit: This is definitely not Big Shawn, tho he features on "R-A-P". We picked up the main artist calling himself Dosha / Dousha.]
[Update: the artist is known as DOJAH (check the comments below)]

Anyhoo, this tape is effin ROCKS! Really dope, raw and mellow... Just the way I love it. Especially the track "Let'em Have It"!

Please help recognizing the artist.

Title's (a few annoying skit tracks removed):
1. R-A-P
2. On Her Jock...
3. Don't Trip (Conceit)
4. The 10 Rap Commandments
5. Let'em Have It
6. Walkman Hits

pw: ghettostyles

Black Tongue: Future Shock (1999)

Another release from Los Angeles based Antisocial Recordings label, this solo album by Black Tongue came out in 1999. Featuring Imaginative Eye, Vainglory and Perfecto, with production by Black Tongue, Imaginative Eye, and one beat by Jericho J (of The English League).

password: ghettostyles

Copacetic Concepts: Dnuorgrednu-Epat

Underground tape by Copacetic Concepts (Imaginative Eye & Vainglory, from Los Angeles) released in 1998 or 1999. Featuring Basik Mcee, Perfecto, Black Tongue, Eyei 3. Beats by 2Phat, Imaginative Eye, and Eyei3.

password: ghettostyles